A little over a year

That’s how long it’s been since I’ve been here. Although I didn’t go very far. A lot can happen in a year, and it did for me. Some things have managed to stay the same, but in the past year, it was a whirlwind. Let me tell you what I mean.

I found out soon after my last post on July 4th that I was expecting my first child. *EEEK!!!*   It was the beginning of scary moments, and what followed was many doctor’s appointments, blood draws, lab tests, changing of habits (no more scooping cat litter! no more than one cup of coffee per day! Yikes!), and all the while I watched my stomach grew…slowly.

She came on March 4, 2013 at 4:56 p.m. weighing 7 lbs. 2.6 oz and 20.5″ long. A thing of beauty. Loud beauty. She made her statement by crying all night during our stay in the hospital, and continued to do that for awhile. I was scared to death as to how I would handle such an active baby. Luckily, she turned out perfect, and healthy.

Also, during this time of pregnancy, we decided to move out to the suburbs. Attracted by the cheap rent and all the space it provided, knowing we’d need a room for Lily, we ventured out to the corner of Gresham, and discovered that it wasn’t right for us. I was bored, restless, and unmotivated. It was a strange feeling–that living far away would make me feel. So, as soon as our lease was up, we moved back to our old complex. It’s been a month of craziness–packing, moving, unpacking, decorating, while taking care of the baby.

It wasn’t until Labor Day this year (Sept. 2nd) that I had the day off from work and decided to venture back into baking. Boy, oh boy, my first try was rough. I’ve recently became a fan of Whole Foods  that I decided to use one of their recipes, Banana Apricot Muffins. Seems simple enough, right?

 

9691772174_dcb702e7ed_z

Turns out, I forgot to buy the almond flour. Since I didn’t want to go back to the store, I went ahead and substituted almond flour for all purpose flour. Now, I am not exactly an expert on flour in general, but this substitution was NOT a good idea. The recipe called for 3 cups of almond flour, which is a ridiculous amount to begin with. Not surprisingly, the muffins turned out to be a crusty, dry mess. Perhaps it would have been better with the almond flour?

Undaunted by this failure, I decided to venture into it again. SECOND TRY. Less flour. More effort in the mixing. The result: so so….these muffins had a distinct flavor mix: the combination of apricots with bananas created a sweet (but not too sweet) taste and the walnuts brought out a nutty flavor in the background. The honey instead of the sugar really made a difference. Overall, these muffins were a good first-time-in-awhile-try-at-baking activity.

I feel like an old rusty door, hinges almost undone, but hanging on. My attempts at baking will continue in the future, whenever I have free time (which really means- whenever the baby takes a long enough nap during day). Stay tuned. In the meantime, this reminds me of why I love it here so much.

alleyway

Leave a Reply

