Lady Liberty would be disappointed

I am a very picky eater. There, I admit it. I can’t help it. If it doesn’t taste good to me, then it’s not good at all. This inconvenient trait of mine must’ve started in the womb, I’m sure. Because when I started eating real food after turning a year old, the only thing I would eat was rice and sugar. No surprise there.

I come from a place that eats rice almost every single day. It’s a staple that can’t be beat. Now, rice and sugar, on the other hand, is an interesting combination. The only way I knew about my rice and sugar obsession was from my mom. She told me that I was a tough cookie. It must’ve been because I was the last born and by then, there were plenty food options to choose from. Well, sort of.

It was many years after the Vietnam war had ended, and the thought of not having enough basic staples to feed your child was gone. My mom was able to go to the market and get more varieties of food. She fed me a variety of foods, but for some reason, I was more attracted to sugar and rice in a bowl. I continued to be a picky eater up until adulthood. [My poor mom doesn’t have to deal with this anymore, thank goodness!] I knew it must be a sign that I would grow up to love sweet stuff. In fact, my pre-adolescent and teenage years consisted of spending many trips at the dentist’s office getting my teeth fixed! Tsk, tsk, I know. I’m a little bit better now, I swear πŸ˜‰

My picky eating brain came back to haunt me again right after I made New York Crumb Cake. I had saved this recipe from–who else but Martha Stewart?–and last week, I decided to try it out. I was not in a bread-like mood, but also not in an extremely sweet mood either, so this cake seemed like a fair balance between the two.

I don’t know what it was, but I thought it was awful. Absolutely, positively awful. Was it the flour? Is it because I didn’t use a flour sifter? (Oops). Too much flour, I decided. Comparing other crumb cake recipes, I found that it does not contain as much flour as much as 4 cups of flour that this recipe requires. No sour cream? After all, sour cream is known to add a little softness & richness to cakes. Not enough butter or eggs? I thought one egg didn’t seem enough. OR perhaps I just completely forgot an entire ingredient or added the ingredients in the wrong order?

Don’t be fooled by how they look. Whatever it was, I am determined to revise this recipe, or at least find a better one. As soon as these came out of the oven, and I tasted one, I almost choked because it felt too dry. My husband also agreed that it was a bit dry at first, but being the not-so-picky eater himself (he’s pretty open to a lot of foods and tastes), he went ahead and ate them anyway. He even offered it to his brother *GASP* and told me that his brother liked it. I find it hard to believe…but thank guys! πŸ˜‰

I made up for my awfully dry crumb cake by tossing together this awesome raw salad.

Tomorrow is my day off, andΒ I plan on improving my crumb cake. I would really love to have an awesome treat for breakfast with my coffee in the morning. This time, I’m going to try Ina Garden’s Blueberry Crumb Cake Recipe, without the blueberries. We’ll see how that goes.

One thought on “Lady Liberty would be disappointed

Leave a Reply

